Instagram’s New TOS

I’ve never been a big Instagram user. I’ve tried. I just can’t get into taking random photos about everyday life. It’s just not my thing. That’s OK though because there are literally millions of people who love the service.

My big qualm has always been the size of the photos. I think most people are terrible about photo organization and probably believe that using a service like Instagram means their photos are preserved for all time and safe. They don’t realize that Instagram crops their photos from a would be 2448×3264 to 612×612. That’s a lot of memories down sized. And I’m sure most people are blissfully unaware.

If you want to know more about how the different camera apps post smaller resolution photos check out this older post in which I go through Instagram, Path, Camera+, Facebook, and others.

But the big news lately is how Instagram changed it’s terms of service to say that any photo a user posts can be sold without their consent or any compensation.

You agree that a business or other entity may pay us to display your username, likeness, photos (along with any associated metadata), and/or actions you take, in connection with paid or sponsored content or promotions, without any compensation to you…

My first thought:

But I was glad to see Wil Wheaton even take up the cause and share some very plausible examples:

if Kaley Cuoco uses Instagram to share a photo of her and Melissa Rauch doing something silly, does that mean that Instagram can take that photo and use it to advertise for something silly without compensating them for what becomes a use of their likeness for commercial purposes? I can see that being a pretty serious shitstorm if it happens.

I personally think Instagram will cave and reverse this but time will tell.

UPDATE: Some stars are catching on and are not happy:

Published by

itswilder

Associate Creative Director, Broadcast & New Media Design at PBS in Arlington, VA. Previously with TBS & TNT at Turner Broadcasting.